Add news item for Alt-tab call for talks
authorNeil Parikh <n3parikh@csclub.uwaterloo.ca>
Mon, 29 Oct 2018 17:09:17 +0000 (13:09 -0400)
committerNeil Parikh <n3parikh@csclub.uwaterloo.ca>
Mon, 29 Oct 2018 17:11:32 +0000 (13:11 -0400)
news.xml

index d9b5511..00f863b 100644 (file)
--- a/news.xml
+++ b/news.xml
@@ -2,6 +2,32 @@
 
 <!DOCTYPE newdefs SYSTEM "csc.dtd" [<!ENTITY mdash "&#x2014;">]>
 <newsdefs>
+   <newsitem author="n3parikh" date="2018-10-29">
+     <p>CSC will be hosting Alt-Tab, a slightly longer version of lightning talks. It will be a night full of friendly talks during the week of November 26.</p>
+
+     <p>We need talks! Contact <a href="mailto:ubarar@edu.uwaterloo.ca">ubarar@edu.uwaterloo.ca</a>, with your tentative talk title and a short abstract if you would like to give a talk.
+       Slides are not required. Please aim for a 10-15 minute talk. I'll send an email with the list of talks closer to the date of the event.
+       Please send titles and abstract by November 19th.
+     </p>
+
+     <p>Here are some topics that our members have presented before. The titles make them seem more technical than they actually were.</p>
+
+     <ul>
+       <li>Overview of SAT solvers</li>
+       <li>Communication complexity</li>
+       <li>Register allocation in compilers as graph colouring</li>
+       <li>Web application security</li>
+       <li>PXE booting</li>
+       <li>UI and UX</li>
+       <li>Train signalling and sensing</li>
+       <li>Typed Racket</li>
+       <li>Modern GPU architecture</li>
+       <li>The comment that took Stack Exchange down and the algorithm that could have saved them</li>
+       <li>Register Allocation With Graphs</li>
+     </ul>
+
+     <p>There will be food.</p>
+   </newsitem>
    <newsitem author="ztseguin" date="2018-10-07">
      <p>We have been informed of a planned power outage that will affect CSC
        equipment on Oct. 9 at 11pm until Oct. 10 at 5am.</p>